top of page

Gridiron Grandad!

Last night, residents in Western Australia were able to see our very own Bob Barrett on their local news.


Channel 10 News WA did a piece on Bob - discussing his love for the sport, a little about his background and how he manages to recruit the next generation of officials in WA.


First blowing a whistle in 1969 in the States and is still on the field today!
We’re lucky to have you and your knowledge with us here in AGOA, Bob!


A special thank you to Rebecca Perrie and Channel 10 News WA for this heartwarming segment. You can watch the entire night’s addition of the news, including Bob’s piece, on the 10 Now app or website!

Vale John Sabine

AGOA has been saddened to hear recently of the passing of Dr John Sabine on the 30th April 2021.

Instrumental in the administration of the league in South Australia in the mid 80’s, ‘Doc’ , as he was known to many of us, was a leader and innovator, playing a major role in the formation of a national gridiron body, and of AGOA. His vision also led to the then Pac-10 coordinator of football officials, Verle Sorgen, coming to Adelaide in 1989 as the Officiating Supervisor for the Grand Prix Challenge tournament.

In recognition of his contribution to officiating, John was an inaugural inductee into the AGOA Officiating Hall of Fame in 2006. He received similar recognition from the Gridiron Association of South Australia, and in 2018 was inducted into their Hall of Fame for his contribution as both an administrator and official in that competition.

Describing himself as a "Scholar-at-Large", John was a man of considerable knowledge and intellect. A Rhodes Scholar, he held a PhD in Animal Nutrition along with a Master of Agricultural Science, and Bachelor of Science in Agriculture, degrees.

Outside of gridiron, he was a thinker, motivational speaker, writer and actor, and above all a family man. His leadership, guidance, experience and presence will be missed.

Screen Shot 2022-02-14 at 8.41.28 pm.png

The Agenda for the 2021 AGM and the 2021 Directors report are attached, for the information of our members


Wednesday 26th August 2020

AGOA would like to announce and welcome Shane Oset to AGOA management team. We would also like to take this time to thank Brian Balzamo for his work during his tender on AGOA management team 

2020 AGM


Saturday 15th August 2020

QGOA return to play guidelines being used by QLD for their upcoming season. This is not exhaustive and is not going to meet all States needs, without further review and changes, due to the vast variation throughout Australia.

Our thanks to Mark Looi and the QGOA for making this available.

A review of changes to MOFO due to COVID will follow in the coming weeks.



Thursday 30th July 2020


In accordance with AGOA constitution, notice is hereby given of our intention to hold our Annual General Meeting for 2020 on Sunday  23rd August at 7 pm AEST via conference call.

The business of the meeting will be to:
1. Approve the minutes of the previous SGM.
2.  Approve the minutes of the previous AGM.
3. Adopt the annual report.  (To be forwarded shortly).
4. Conduct an election for three Directors to 2-year terms (Nominations must be received by 7 pm Sunday 9th August).

At the close of the meeting, we will leave the call open for discussion around the resumption of football, including topics such as Covid-19, 2020 registrations, and other matters as necessary.

Voting at a General meeting is by the ordinary members, which for us means those members with Level 1 and higher qualification who are registered and financial with AGOA at the time of the meeting. Registration details will be forwarded prior to Friday 7th August 2020.

Each year at the AGM, three Directors are elected for 2-year terms.  The Directors Miles Newman, Pam Pellizzari and Brian Balzamo have terms expiring this year, but all are eligible for re-election.  Directors elected this year will serve until the 2022 AGM.

Any ordinary member of AGOA (as per above description) may nominate to be a director by submitting an email advising their intent for nomination. This must be seconded by another ordinary member via a separate email.  The nominees may also submit other details such as a CV or a cover letter that will be distributed to ordinary members prior to the meeting.  All nominations should be received by 7 pm Sunday 9th August.  

All correspondence regarding this meeting and nominations should be sent to  A final agenda and details of nominations will be sent out on 10th August.

Conference call invitations will be sent out no later than Friday 21st August 2020.


Brian Harwood

AGOA Secretary

2015 WC Crew.JPG






ACT JUniors 2016-2.jpg

Sunday 24th July 2022

The Agenda for the 2022 AGM and the 2022 Directors report are attached, for the information of our members

bottom of page